UAlg marks the opening of the Academic Year with concert by the Orquestra Clássica do Sul

The University of Algarve will mark the Opening of the Academic Year 2022/23 with a concert interpreted by Orquestra Clássica do Sul, which will start at 18h00 on the 8th of October at the Grand Auditorium Caixa Geral de Depósitos on the Gambelas Campus.

Two symphonies written by two of the greatest composers of this orchestral form were selected for this concert.

The first one, by Joseph Haydn, Symphony No. 31 in D Major, known as "Horn's Touch" (1765), shows his amazing musical creativity, which leads him to integrate in this symphony several solos for the instruments of the orchestra, including the improbable Double Bass, almost as a concertante symphony. The work begins with the unmistakable horn signal which gives the work its popular Hornsignal designation.

The second, by Franz Schubert, the Fourth Symphony in C minor (1816), was composed in the middle of the composer's youth and is called "Tragic" by the author himself. The reason for such a title is unknown, but this is the first of only two symphonies (the other being the Incomplete Symphony) that Schubert wrote in the minor mode, traditionally associated with the idea of sadness and dramatic effect.

Two contrasting works that remind us of Schiller and Goethe's literary and artistic movement of pre-19th century Germany Sturm und Drang (Storm and Impetus).


J. HAYDN (1732 – 1809)

Sinfonia nº 31 em Ré maior Hob.I:31 “Toque de Trompas”                    

F. SCHUBERT (1797-1828)     

Sinfonia nº 4 em Dó menor D. 417 “Trágica”

Click here to consult the Concert Venue Sheet